The Word Is

 Where did the word ‘BLOG’ come from?According to http://answers.yourdictionary.com (quote)”Jorn Barger coined the term “weblog” on December 17 1997, and it all begin from there. After Barger used the term weblog, a shorter term, “blog” was coined by Peter Merholz, who joked around with the word weblog by breaking it into a phrase “we blog” in the sidebar of his website called Peterme.com in 1999. Shortly after that, Evan Williams of Pyra Labs used the word blog as if it were a real noun and verb. “To blog,” as he phrased it, meant to post or edit a weblog. He then devised another term, “blogger” which referred to the person posting entries in the weblog.”In 2004, the word ‘blog’ was chosen as the word of the year by the Merriam-Webster dictionary.

So thus begins my ‘BLOG’.
The basic premise of my Web Log (I really prefer that to blog…)
will be my faith in my Savior, Jesus Christ.
I really have little to say these days about much else.  I rather talk about His greatness, His mercy, His grace, His glory, His honor and most of all, His impact on my life.
Oh, other conversations come and go, like everyone else, I talk about the weather, my dog, the kayak trips my husband and I take, even the prices at Walmart. . . . but all the while my lips are speaking common words, my heart is beating with His Name, in fact, I want to believe that if someone listens to my heart with a stethoscope, they will not hear thump, thump, thump…..they will hear Jesus, Jesus, Jesus, Jesus….I need to believe that.
My life before Christ was nothing to brag about. In fact, though it could not be concealed from Christ, I’d rather not have any of it out on display for the world. I am so happy to know that according to His Word in Psalm 103:12, He said, “As far as the east is from the west, so far has He removed our transgressions from us”.
And I have read that our universe is commonly defined as the totality of everything that exists, including all matter and energy, the planets, stars, all galaxies and the contents of all intergalactic space. I can’t even wrap my very finite brain around that.
Another way of defining our universe can be found in “De divisione naturae” by the medieval philosopher and theologian Johannes Scotus Eriugena, who defined it as simply everything: everything that is created and everything that is not created. That sounds more like it to me.  According to John 1:1-5, everything, “all things” were created by God.  I have no trouble believing that.  In fact, it is an impossibility to believe that some sort of uncontrolled ‘big bang’ is responsible for everything we can see around us, even the things that are so very very small that we can’t.
John 1:1-5, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. All things were created through Him, and apart from Him not one thing was created that has been created. Life was in Him, and that life was the light of men. That light shines in the darkness, yet the darkness did not overcome it.”
So if NASA is correct, that an image taken in 2003 by the WMAP satellite from the most distant part of our universe that can be seen from earth and the light that traveled from that far distant place in space took 13 billion years to reach us, well, rethinking the idea of my transgressions, my sins, since light travels at 186,000 miles per SECOND, or 6 TRILLION miles per year. . . .and we’re talking about 13 billion years. . . well, my calculator can’t go that many zeros. But I can believe that God, in His most generous grace and mercy, and because of my faith in Christ my Savior, has put my sins as far as the east is from the west which just happens to be 78 with 21 zeros….oh my. . . .now that is a number that I can’t fathom. . . but I can believe that God is a merciful God. He is alive and His Spirit, the Spirit of Christ lives in my heart. . . .Jesus, Jesus, Jesus. . . .thump, thump, thump…
 
3 thoughts on “The Word Is

  1. Hurray for Linda! What a thought-provoking blog! Can’t wait to read more of them. When my sister, Miriam, read your response to my blog, she commented, “Wow, does she have a blog?” I’ll let her know you now do have one! Keep them coming…..!

  2. I was just mentioning to Joey It had been a long time since I had heard from you and now i know you have been very busy in your heart felt words. My thanks to you!
    Leslie

  3. Lynda God is clearly using you through this means- Enjoy visiting and reading what the Lord has given you and Skip. Eliz and I pray every evening for you both, asking for His hand of healing to be manifested in Skip’s body. Skip and I first met as classmates in 1948… fond memories have remained all these years. It is clear Skip has a great gift from the Lord in you Lynda, Of, course,you know how blessed you are to have him
    I married my pastor’s daughter, Elizabeth Hollingsworth, in 1959 while in the Navy. The lord has been merciful and faithful to us these 53 years. I was raised by a Christian grandmother who kept me in church where I found Christ as my savior at the age of 10, under the ministry of Dr. Oswald J. Smith, Pastor of the People’s Missionary Crurch of Toronto. (He was conducting a campaign in St. Petersburg and my grandmother had me there) My father eventually had 6 marriages and my mother four, so you see I know the Lord is love and gives grace. (Proverbs 3:5&6)
    Love to you both,
    David & Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

