In His Hands

Everything is in God’s hands.  Even the circumstances in the lives of those who choose not to put their faith in God or look to Christ for their salvation.
Hebrews 1:3 says, “The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact expression of His nature, sustaining all things by His powerful word.  After making purification for sins, He sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high.”

Today is a follow-up CT scan for my husband.  We will get the results next week.  I always pray for him, but these last couple of weeks I have been praying even more for him.       Not just for the report on the scan to be good, but for his peace and comfort as he goes through the procedure, and above all his safety.
And as I prayed last evening, I prayed in similar words that I have prayed so many time, “Lord I ask for his safety through the procedure tomorrow, for his peace and comfort too.   I put all of his care into Your hands.”

And then it hit me square between the eyes. . . .his care has always been in His hands.      I began laughing as I knew that the Lord was saying, “you silly girl, I have his care and his wellness not only in the palm of My hand but there is nothing anyone or anything can do to change that!”
It was at that moment that I realized the level of my own audacity. To presume that I could love and be concerned for Skip more than the Lord was, that was not possible.

So then I began to meditate on that single verse in Hebrews. What do those words mean? “The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact expression of His nature. .” Putting that into simple terms, how can one light show the brightness of another except that they are truly One? How can one life express the nature of another except that they are truly One? Christ doesn’t just reflect the glory of God, He is the glory of God. Christ doesn’t just express the nature of God, He is the nature of God. Bound together by the Holy Spirit of God, They sit side by side in heaven. (Mark 16:19)

As I continue to pray this morning for my husband’s health and well being, I will meditate on God’s Word.
Colossians 1:15-20 in my J.B.Phillip’s Bible reads this way, “Now Christ is the visible expression of the invisible God. He existed before creation began, for it was through Him that every thing was made, whether spiritual or material, seen or unseen. Through Him, and for Him, also, were created power and dominion, ownership and authority. In fact, every single thing was created through, and for Him. He is both the first principle and the upholding principle of the whole scheme of creation. And now He is the head of the body which is composed of all Christian people. Life from nothing began through Him, and life from the dead began through Him, and He is, therefore, justly called the Lord of all. It was in Him that the full nature of God chose to live, and through Him God planned to reconcile in His own person, as it were, everything on earth and everything in Heaven by virtue of the sacrifice of the cross.”

My Lord and my God is in control of what happens today and everyday.
I can depend on that!. . . . . You can depend on that!
One thought on “In His Hands

Leave a Reply

