Holy

James 4:14 (JBPhillips), “How do you know what will happen even tomorrow?  What, after all, is your life? It is like a puff of smoke visible for a little while and then dissolving into thin air.”
 
The recent passing into glory of several people I knew, even two family members, the truth of my own mortality seems to be on my mind.  Now I’m not saying that I am eager for that final moment, but I can’t honestly say that I’m not.  And the truth is, we will all face that final moment, that last breath that will free us from this earth suit and put us instantly into the presence of our very Holy God.
 
And I ask myself, Am I ready?  Do I fully understand the holiness of the One Who died for me?  I’m not sure that I do.  In fact, that word holiness is a word that many Christians have let slip from their vocabulary. 

In Isaiah 44:22, God says, “I have blotted out your transgressions like a cloud and your sins like mist; return to Me, for I have redeemed you.”

To me, that verse really highlights God’s holiness.  Only One Who is Holy could blot out my transgressions.  And when I consider the immensity of that word ‘blot’, I am overcome with awe.

Only a Holy God could wipe out my sin without contaminating Himself.
Only a Holy God could obliterate my sin and leave no residue.
Only a Holy God would do that for someone who should have been exterminated!

How can we renew our understanding of that word ‘holy’?  I suspect that the answer lies in His Word. 
God, in His own Holiness, declared many things to be holy, days, places, things and people.  And He declared that He Himself was Holy.  And throughout His Word, we are reminded that the One Who brought us out of the bondage of sin, out of Egypt is Holy. 

He is the Lord, Yahweh, Jehovah God.

Here in these verses the holiness of God is declared.

Isaiah 6:1-8 . . . . Isaiah’s Call and Mission

“In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord seated on a high and lofty throne,
and His robe filled the temple.  Seraphim were standing above Him; each one had
six wings: with two he covered his face, with two he covered his feet, and with two
he flew.
And one called to another:
Holy, holy, holy is the LORD of Hosts; His glory fills the whole earth. 
The foundations of the doorways shook at the sound of their voices, and the temple was filled with smoke.
Then I said: Woe is me for I am ruined because I am a man of unclean lips and live
among a people of unclean lips, and because my eyes have seen the King, the LORD of Hosts.
Then one of the seraphim flew to me, and in his hand was a glowing coal that he had taken from the altar with tongs. He touched my mouth with it and said: Now that this has touched your lips, your wickedness is removed and your sin is atoned for.
Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying: Who should I send? Who will go for Us? 
I said: Here I am. Send me.”
 
Let us all begin to seek God’s Holiness.  Let us see Him on that high and lofty throne.
Let us all say, “Here I am. Send me.”
One thought on “Holy

  1. Lynda, those eight verses in Isaiah are among my favorites in the Bible! What a beautiful devotion…it’s so true….understanding the magnitude of God’s holiness is beyond my pea brain. But that’s where faith comes in….even though I can’t grasp the immensity of His holiness….I believe without a doubt that I’ve been made worthy by the blood of His precious Son and I can approach His throne.

Leave a Reply

