God vs. Science

“What is man that You make so much of him, and that You set Your heart on him, visit him every morning and test him every moment?” (Job 7:17-18)
 
This morning I was reading what some scientists, both living and dead had to say about science, God and spirituality.  And when I read a quote from the late Isaac Asimov (1920-1992), who was an American biochemist and science fiction writer, I realized that some Christians are on the slippery slope of being an atheist.  Asimov once said, “Emotionally, I am an atheist. I don’t have the evidence to prove that God doesn’t exist, but I so strongly suspect he doesn’t that I don’t want to waste my time”
 
The last few words of that statement are what caught my attention, “I don’t want to waste my time”. . . .
 
If we as Christians believe as Job did, that God has set His heart on us, then why is it so difficult for us to set aside an hour or two to read God’s Word and meditate on His precepts?  Could it be that we have so much going on in our finite lives that we somehow have been caught in the sway of the world that says that it is a waste of time?
 
In an almost contradictory statement, Job also said, “my days are swifter than a weaver’s shuttle and come to their end without hope.” (Job 7:6)
 
Poor Job. . . .on one hand he believed that God had set His heart on him and on the other he thought his end would come without hope.
 
But we have hope, a hope that is centered and grounded in Christ.  And my favorite verses about hope are Romans 8:24-25 where the Apostle Paul says, “For in this hope we were saved.  Now hope that is seen is not hope.  For who hopes for what he sees?  But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.”
 
My heart breaks for people like Asimov, without hope, believing that to seek God is a waste of time.  Our days do run faster than a weaver’s shuttle.  And we must believe in the hope by which we were saved, we must wait with patience, and we must not consider that time spent with God in prayer, reading His Word and meditating on His precepts is a waste of time.
Leave a Reply

