The Good Fight

I don’t know about you, but I want to be able to say as the Apostle Paul did in 2 Timothy 4, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. There is reserved for me in the future the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give me on that day.”

But times are hard and are getting harder. The enemy is a thief and he has his minions stationed at every turn of the road. Just about the time you think you will have some smooth way, he tosses some garbage into your path.

And it is in these high-tech times that there seems to be a problem with what people consider to be truth. Unless it is backed up by an extreme intellectual argument or scientific proof of some sort, it fails the test. But to a Bible believing Christian, the word truth is spelled JESUS CHRIST. So to us, truth is as simple as believing in Him. And it is the contrast between the ideas of what truth is, that cause a great chasm, so difficult to cross, for those of us who try to obey Christ’s command to take the gospel to all nations.

In my mind, I think the most diabolical tactic that the enemy has is the invasive way that he manipulates people, especially those who are spiritually inquisitive and seeking something deeper in their lives. They are the one’s in the greatest peril.

In John 14:6, Jesus Himself said, I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.”  Those were His words.  And I believe Him. While there are many groups who will argue saying that there are many roads to God, Jesus said there is only One Way.

The funny thing is, there are many who will accept the first part of that verse, the part that says, I am the way, the truth, and the life, but reject the second part that says, “No one comes to the Father except through Me.”

That idea seems to be so exclusive that those who are resisting on other levels of faith, find that to be the clincher.

I mean, after all, God couldn’t be that offensive that He would limit access to Himself to such a narrow way.

But the truth is in His Word, Enter through the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the road is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who go through it. How narrow is the gate and difficult the road that leads to life, and few find it.” (Matthew 7:13-14)

Father God,
It is to Your glory and honor that I live and breathe.  As the days grow darker, strengthen me by Your Spirit so that I will be ready and able to share Your gospel and Your Truth with every ear and every eye that I meet along the way.  I look to that day, that day that Your servant Paul spoke of with great joy.  Thank you LORD for Your overflowing grace and mercy.
In Jesus Name, Amen
Leave a Reply

