His Fellowship

Every morning I reach out to my Savior to have fellowship with Him.  I want to know Him not just about Him.  I want to become so familiar with His voice that I will be able to discern it even in the midst of the clamor of this noisy world.  I want to see His presence in my heart. 

The Book of Ruth is a wonderful story of love and devotion.  Ruth, a young widow herself, chose to stay with her recently widowed mother-in-law and instead of returning to her own home in Moab, returned with Naomi to her home in Judah.  After a time, Ruth was noticed by Boaz, a relative of Naomi’s late husband.  He had heard how she had chosen to stay with Naomi instead of returning to her own homeland and her own family. 

While Ruth was working in the fields, gleaning grain that fell behind the workers,  Boaz invited Ruth to have food, and a wonderful verse in chapter 2 says, “Come over here and have some bread and dip it in the vinegar sauce.” So she sat beside the harvesters, and he offered her roasted grain. She ate and was satisfied and had some left over.”
 
Boaz was wealthy.  He was not obligated to this foreigner yet his kindness overflowed onto her.  He saw to it that she was able to gather much grain from bundles left purposely behind and not just what had fallen onto the ground as the harvesters worked.  He was protective in that he ordered all of his men to leave her alone and he made sure that she had water to drink and a place to rest.
 
Doesn’t that sound just like our Jesus, our Beautiful Savior, our Precious Lord?
 
He is wealthy.  In fact, He owns everything that we can see and even all that we can’t see.  He owns every animal in the forest and all the cattle on a thousand hills (Psalm 50) and He had no obligation to do anything for us, the descendents of Adam & Eve, who thought we were rich and in need of nothing, yet in fact, we were wretched, pitiful, poor, blind, and naked (Rev. 3:17) but He gave Himself up to the cross for us so that we would have an inheritance in all that God has. (Philippians 2), (Ephesians 1)
 
Do we not owe Him our closest fellowship? 
 
That word ‘fellowship’ means a feeling of friendship, a feeling of mutual support and devotion between those who have the same interests.
 
What are His interests in this world? 
 
Jesus said, “And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.” And He said that He had come so that we “may have life and have it in abundance.” (John 10) 
And the beloved Apostle John said, “For God sent not His Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through Him might be saved.” (John 3)
 
And do we all share those interests?  Do we look for and seek out opportunities to share His gospel?  We can’t honestly say that we are in fellowship with Him, sharing His interests with sincere devotion to Him, if we don’t.
 
Ruth was given food and she ate and was “satisfied.”
 
When we dine with Him, on the bread and the water that He gives, we too will be satisfied.  And what a wonderful thing it is to share His food.
 
Twice after His resurrection, Jesus ate with some of His disciples.  In Luke it says that at first they were frightened by His appearance in their midst but He showed them His hands and feet and asked for something to eat, and they gave Him some broiled fish. 
But the sweetest meal that I can imagine having with Him was when Simon Peter and several other men, including Thomas and Nathanael had gone fishing.  And when morning came, having spent all night out in the boat but having no fish to show for their effort, though they did not recognize Him, Jesus stood on the shore and directed them to fish on the right side of the boat.  Oh boy, did they catch fish.  Peter suddenly remembers another time when Jesus had told him where to fish and he yells, “It is the LORD!!” (John 21)
 
Imagine how wonderful it was for those men to see their Savior again!  I cry every time I think about it.  And when they got to the shore, Jesus had been busy laying some fish on the coals of a hot fire, and He said, come and have breakfast.
Jesus gave them each bread and the grilled fish and they all ate. What a wonderful breakfast that must have been.. Sitting on the beach with close friends, all listening and watching the LORD Jesus, hearing His voice, seeing His beautiful face.
 
And it right here, on the beach of the Sea of Tiberias (Galilee), these men, learned what Christ’s interest’s were in the world.
 
“Do you love Me?. . . . feed My lambs. . . .
“Do you love Me?. . . . feed My sheep. . . .
“Do you love Me?. . . . feed My sheep. . . .
 
Spend time listening to His voice as you read and meditate in His Word.  In this way you will have wonderful fellowship with Him and you will learn how to feed His lambs.  For Him to have repeated that directive three times means to me that it was very important to Him.
 
LORD God of all, I know that You own everything and You have been so generous to me.  You have fed me when I hungered and You gave me water when I was parched and dry.  You have washed me clean with Your precious blood, setting my sins as far from You as the East is from the West.  You have clothed me in Your righteousness and given me the privilege to enter into the throne room of God to lay my prayers on Your altar.  I know I can’t repay You for all You have done.  And as Peter answered You when You asked, do you love Me?, yes LORD, I love You.  How can I not.  Help me to show it, enable me to feed Your sheep, give me grace and mercy to share with Your lambs.  Oh God, how I deserve the worst yet You have given me the best.
I bless Your Name LORD Jesus and I will sing Your praise all the days of my life.
Amen
Leave a Reply

