Rejoice

Romans 8:31-39, “What then are we to say about these things? If God is for us, who is against us? He did not even spare His own Son but offered Him up for us all; how will He not also with Him grant us everything? Who can bring an accusation against God’s elect God is the One who justifies. Who is the one who condemns? Christ Jesus is the One who died, but even more, has been raised; He also is at the right hand of God and intercedes for us. Who can separate us from the love of Christ? Can affliction or anguish or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? As it is written: Because of You we are being put to death all day long; we are counted as sheep to be slaughtered. No, in all these things we are more than victorious through Him who loved us. For I am persuaded that not even death or life, angels or rulers, things present or things to come, hostile powers, height or depth, or any other created thing will have the power to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord!”

The Apostle Paul’s words in his letter to the church in Rome are only part of what Christ Jesus gave us in His Word, but they are some of the most important and valuable words in the entire Bible.

And every time I mess up, every time I say the wrong thing, do the wrong thing, think the wrong thing, every time the devil whispers in my ear with the taunting idea that I have slipped out of the grip of Christ, I come back to Romans 8, and I read what Jesus is saying to me through His Word as recorded by His faithful and true servant Paul.

And I rejoice!

And then I read Ephesians 2:4-9 to put a lock on it!                                                        “But God, who is rich in mercy, because of His great love that He had for us, made us alive with the Messiah even though we were dead in trespasses. You are saved by grace! Together with Christ Jesus He also raised us up and seated us in the heavens, so that in the coming ages He might display the immeasurable riches of His grace through His kindness to us in Christ Jesus. For you are saved by grace through faith, and this is not from yourselves; it is God’s gift — not from works, so that no one can boast.”

My Lord Jesus, You overwhelm me with Your love and grace. I fall, You pick me up, I sin and You forgive me. And no matter how many times I do, You are always there to raise me back up. And when the devil comes with his whispers of doubt and fear, You stand up for me and I can hear Your Word of faith and I know that You are my God.  With all of the praise that I can speak through my lips and all of the glory and honor that my heart and mind can lay at Your feet, I worship You.  In Jesus Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

