Waiting On God

In Psalm 90:10, David said, “Our lives last seventy years or, if we are strong, eighty years.  Even the best of them are struggle and sorrow; indeed, they pass quickly and we fly away.

My dad lived to be 80.  And I can honestly attest to the fact that his final 10 years were difficult.  It was during that time that he was diagnosed with Leukemia and went through several chemo treatments.

I think it was very labor intensive for him to have made it to his 80th year.  And I honestly think that if it had not been for the prodding and pleading of my mom, he would have peacefully gone on to meet the LORD much sooner.  And it was during those final years of his life that he got to the place where he didn’t like waiting in line.

And it is a fact, that during our 70 plus years, we do an enormous amount of waiting.  I read recently that over the course of an average life span, most people spend 5 years of their lives waiting in lines for all the stuff that we think we can’t live without.

5 years!! That’s a long time!

During the Christmas holidays, we all saw people willing to spend the night in lawn chairs in front of stores in order to buy some special item.  They waited. . . .

We all seem to have a weakness when it comes to waiting for things we think we need.

But how are we when it comes to waiting on God?

David seemed to speak of waiting on God a lot.

In Psalm 25, he wrote, “Make Your ways known to me, LORD; teach me Your paths.  Guide me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; I wait for You all day long.  Remember, LORD, Your compassion and Your faithful love, for they have existed from antiquity.  Do not remember the sins of my youth or my acts of rebellion; in keeping with Your faithful love, remember me because of Your goodness, LORD.”

And in Psalm 62, if we listen hard, we might hear David singing, “Rest in God alone, my soul, for my hope comes from Him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation,my stronghold; I will not be shaken.  My salvation and glory depend on God, my strong rock.  My refuge is in God.  Trust in Him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts before Him.  God is our refuge.”

As Christians we are all waiting expectantly for Christ’s glorious return.                               1 Corinthians 1 and 1 Thessalonians 1

But in the mean time we are admonished to stand, (Ephesians 6) and sometimes standing is very hard to do.  And when the Apostle Paul said ‘stand’, he didn’t just mean for us to be upright, he meant that we must continue, we must be established in the place that Christ has placed us, unmoving and resisting the enemies fiery darts, no matter how fearsome the attack.

Peter, faithful Peter saw what the winds were doing to the waves and even though he had stepped out of the boat in faith, fear overwhelmed him and he began to sink into the troubled waters. (Matthew 14)

If a man who is within an arms reach of Jesus could become fearful because of what his natural eye saw, should we expect more of ourselves?

Jesus gave Peter a slight reprimand when He said, You of little faith, why did you doubt?

But wrapped in that reprimand was also an acknowledgment of the steps that Peter had taken out onto the unknown, onto the troubled waters with just a little bit of faith.  Jesus, is not only omnipotent but omniscient and was well able to lift Peter up out of the overwhelming waves, knowing full well, even before Peter took the first step that he was going to falter.

Today, troubling times are as the waves that brought fear into Peter’s heart.  And many of those around us are being inundated by the waves of trouble.  But stand fast.

He alone is my rock and my salvation, my stronghold; I will never be shaken.” (Psalm 62)

“On that day it will be said, “Look, this is our God; we have waited for Him, and He has saved us.  This is the LORD; we have waited for Him.  Let us rejoice and be glad in His salvation.” (Isaiah 25)

Don’t forget to check out these great Bible study helps:

www.swordsearcher.com

http://www.biblegateway.com

http://www.biblestudytools.com

One thought on “Waiting On God

Leave a Reply

